013. Semester Run-Down, Plus a Dash of Angst.

Tonight is one of those nights when I find myself feeling too alone. I was supposed to go to my friends’ apartments, but I just felt exhausted. Like I needed to spend some time in one place — I’ve been bouncing around Da Capo, Emerson, and Ali’s house. Which is all good and well, but I needed a break.

But that odd feeling of being alone is hitting me. I’m lacking in romantic prospects, as usual. I’m feeling fatalistic about that part of my life. Always. I’m hitting a dry spot writing-wise. I need to work on my thesis. I need to write a story for Sunday. I need to do so much homework it upsets me. I’m not getting as much sleep as I need. The weather is weighing me down. It’s that odd second semester depression that hits me at random. I need ways to beat it.

Digging less deep into my feelings, let’s talk about the first week of classes:

IRISH LITERATURE. Upsides – my teacher is wonderful. He’s knowledgeable about this subject and a lot of other subjects, and seems so very invested in it that I think it’s going to be worth coming to school by 9:45 am on Monday, Wednesday, Friday. The reading material seems really interesting, and we’re going to go through a lot of writers and history. I’m going to learn a lot. Downsides – It’s at 10 a.m three days a week. There are some really irritating people in my class. It’s only slightly longer than my commute, which makes it barely worth it to go. And there is a hell of a lot of work involved, not to mention that I now have a two hour break between my classes. Guess I can use that to do hw, though!

COPYEDITING. Upsides – Sean! Ali! Sara! Wheee! Also, this is going to help me brush up on my grammar skills. Not to mention it’ll give me some very important skills for the publishing business. Afterwards, I’ll know if I can deal with it or not. Downsides – god, it’s boring and nitpicky as hell. The teacher seems nice, but he talks way too quietly. And aside from Sean, Ali, and Sara, there are some REALLY annoying people in that class. Namely Esther, Cass-AUN-dra, and fucking witch girl. I’ve probably never hated anyone as much as I hate this girl. That’s an exaggeration, but, man. She makes things unbearable. Don’t know how I’ll get through it.

LATIN AMERICAN LIT & CINEMA. Upsides – my teacher has an adorable accent. She’s really sweet. The books and movies we’re going to be looking at seem so incredible; I’m beyond excited for them. It also fulfills my global requirement. Downsides – 19th century Ross. Same room as squirrel class which is HORRIBLE. And I’m not sure how I feel about the people in that class in general. The time is not my thing, either — 5:45 is not the best ending point, because that means I’m stuck with commuting at rush hour. Bleh.

THESIS. Upsides – one half-hour every other week. Awesome. My professor also seems great. I’m excited. I think he’ll help me a lot. And I’m not as anxious about my project anymore. We’ll see what happens, though. Downsides – …I’m nervous. But that’s about it.

The end!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

