039. Harry Potter and the Post-Grad Life of Doom.

There are many things I could talk about since it’s been such a very long time since I posted a “real” update (i.e. not a review). But I think I’ll stick with the basics, and what’s been most important so far.

#1. I finally graduated about a week and a half ago. I got my final GPA (3.9), my final standing (Summa Cum Laude), and although so far no word is out about my diploma (it’ll go to my home in New Jersey, not my apartment, and my parents haven’t said anything about it), I’m feeling pretty good about it. Except now all my friends are in classes. Some of their classes sound great, others not so much, but it does make me simultaneously jealous and pleased that I’m not in classes anymore. My schedule is nowhere near as strict, as right now I only have my one day a week internship with Ann, so I’ve been trying to Get Things Done, namely writing and reading, which has not been going quite as well as I’d hoped. I did have an interview for a second internship this past week so we’ll see if anything comes of it. If not, it’s back to the drawing board for me.

#2. Writing. I’ve been doing terribly with it. I think I hit a severe patch of writer’s block, and have (hopefully) just broken through it. I think one of the problems is that I have too many ongoing projects and not enough focus on any of them. One of which is my thesis project, my crime novel. I started rereading what I’d written the other night and cringed at how … not right the writing is. But I also had a paragraph that I was starting to write as a new beginning to the book and that’s shaping up much better. I simply need to just reread what I’ve got, see how I feel about it, and go from there. I plan on doing that rereading within the next few days.

My other project is much newer: a YA novel centering around vampires. Sounds typical, I know, and I’m sorry, but hopefully it won’t come out as typical. It’s supposed to be serious yet funny, and the main vampire, Flynn, is a bit of a failure and doesn’t know it. I started writing a bit of it, but somehow it’s not gelling for me quite yet — I think maybe I need to start at a different point in the story, as I’ve got a particular line stuck in my head and I can’t get past that. So perhaps I’ll start from the other character’s storyline and see where it goes from there.

Third project is the usual monthly/weekly contest at Brigits Flame on Livejournal. Although I’m not really big on the LJ community in general, I find that this is a way to really get myself writing. It’s a competition, which always makes me more motivated, and I write to win. So we’ll see how that goes.

#3. Harry Potter. Yes, I am rereading. I’m on Chamber of Secrets right now, and have also recently gotten into Pottermore. I’ve been exploring the site, which is interesting, although since it’s in its very beginning stages, there isn’t all that much to do and it’s a tad disappointing. I did, however, get Slytherin, which makes me quite pleased. I loved the way they had you choose your house (answering questions that, unlike the myriad of sorting hat quizzes out there, are NOT easy at all to cheat upon. Remember the ones with the really leading questions like, “which colour do you like best? green, red, yellow, or blue?” Yeah.) I’m eager to see what the rest of Pottermore is going to be like; I’ve already found out some really interesting information about McGonagall and The Dursleys’ courtship, as well as a lot more in depth information about wands and such.

That’s pretty much all for now — hopefully I’ll be able to update with another book review soon (after Chamber of Secrets I’m going to take a break and read something new before going back to the Harry Potter series again)!

One thought on “039. Harry Potter and the Post-Grad Life of Doom.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

