041. An Update On Life in General.

Tuesday was my birthday. Twenty-two. I feel old and unaccomplished. It was an odd kind of birthday, my first “adult” birthday, where I had nobody around me, nobody singing, nobody handing me a cake. I had no one to talk to, and very few family members bothered to call. And, of course, I was in the throes of a sinus infection. Sadly, I still am

That’s not to say I didn’t get some lovely gifts and some lovely messages. It was just … different than expected. My party was so very fun — last night, even though I was feeling rather sick, I ended up having a fabulous time. Everyone I could have hoped to see was there, and I hope everyone had as much fun as I did.

This afternoon, before my voice completely upped and left, I had an interview for an internship at Literary Traveler, an online magazine. I think it went fairly well, and for next week, I have to write a 500-word blog post that would fit in with their current posts. Tomorrow, I plan on writing up a list of possibilities.

Currently, I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo. I finally have a possible title, though that may change in the coming weeks if I find another one suits me better. I think I’ll be able to write a lot of this book next month, and I’m excited about it. I know vampires are “done” but I’ve always wanted to write my take on them, and while of course it has been a huge trend in the past few years, I think I can offer something fresh to the genre — if only because I despise most of the vampire lit that came out of the post-Twilight wave of YA. I think my characters are different than the norm, and that my concept is unique with aspects of familiarity. Hopefully I am not wrong about this. You can find me here:

I’ve also been reading quite a bit; I read the next two books in the Flavia de Luce series (though I didn’t post the reviews here, since they’re very similar to the review of the first book), and am excited for book four to come out. I am now working through Kelly Link’s first collection of short stories; review to come soon!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

