049. Why I Have a Problem with Cassandra Clare & Why You Should Too.

I have a bone to pick with Cassandra Clare.

Actually, I have a whole skeleton to pick with Cassandra Clare, but that sounds a little more excessive than is needed.

Originally, when Clare, originally known as Cassandra Claire in the Harry Potter fandom, announced she was getting a trilogy published, I was ecstatic. As a huge, longtime fan of her hilarious and in-depth Draco Trilogy, I knew I absolutely had to read the first book of her trilogy when it came out. Of course, back then, I was woefully uneducated about a lot of things. I wasn’t terribly familiar with classic television shows, and because of this (and probably because I was never fully entrenched in the Harry Potter fandom and simply flitted around the outskirts), I completely neglected to realise that everything I loved about Clare’s wonderfully written trilogy had been stolen.

Okay, technically, everything had been stolen because it was fanfiction. But even though it’s fanfiction, the same rules of literature still apply. You may be borrowing someone else’s settings, premise, and characters, but the writing and concept within your own fic is supposed to be wholly original. Cassie Clare’s was not.

True, if anyone remembers reading The Draco Trilogy online way back in the day, you’ll also remember that Clare posted disclaimers about quotes she’d taken from sources like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Blackadder. But if you Google Clare’s name, you’ll find countless sites, blogs, forums, and even wikis devoted to explaining how she plagiarized most of her work — and then got herself published on the basis of this plagiarized work. And they’re not wrong. Although as far as I am aware, the plots of her fanfiction were still her own (or at least mostly), the writing, which was snappy, witty, and often laugh out loud hilarious, was often not hers. The hysterical quotes my friends and I would giggle about were most often taken (and changed very slightly) from other books, films, or television shows, and often whole chunks of dialogue and description were taken from these sources, with only a line or two attributed. In one chapter, Clare would use countless references and claim them as her own — or at least not specifically explain that they weren’t hers.

Fast forward a few years: Clare befriends Holly Black, who reads her work and refers her to an agent. Clare gets a book deal for her trilogy, The Mortal Instruments. I probably still would have read at least the first one had I been more aware of the plagiarism problem, but not due to excitement. But back then, I only had an inkling that Clare had done something wrong, and at that time, I was inclined to believe fandom was wrong, lashing out at someone who had done great things since her time in Harry Potter land because they were jealous.  But when I read the first book of her “original” trilogy, I was positively floored by how similar it was to The Draco Trilogy.

Granted, the plot’s pretty different. But as we all know, a good book relies on much more than plot and premise, and unfortunately, the characters were straight out of The Draco Trilogy. Of course, Cassandra Clare’s Draco, Ginny, Harry, Hermione, etc. were not exactly canon representations, and she did make these characters something of her own. But Hermione Granger still always retains a bit of Hermione Granger, no matter how garbled an interpretation of her is (and let me tell you, although Clare had a lot of faults, I thought that her interpretations of the Harry Potter characters were, though not totally accurate, both compelling and interesting). When I opened the book, I knew that Clary was Ginny. Alec was Harry. Isabelle was Clare’s version of Blaise (who back then was not officially male or female, and could therefore be interpreted by fandom either way). Valentine was a strange mixture of Lucius and Voldemort. And Jace, of course, was undeniably Draco.

Jace is so Draco, in fact, that it’s impossible to see him as his own character. The way Clare characterizes Jace is the exact same way she characterized her Draco. They share lines (the ones she didn’t steal from Buffy, of course), they share nervous tics, they share appearances, and they even share memories. The second I read the scene in which Jace tells Clary the story about the boy and the falcon, I felt an unpleasant jolt of recognition: that story is one Draco tells in one of the Draco Trilogy installments. I couldn’t remember which one. I couldn’t even remember who Draco told it to (Harry? Ginny? Hermione?). But I knew it was if not word for word taken from her fanfiction, it was very, very close.

The frightening thing about The Mortal Instruments series is that its plot is nowhere near as interesting as the plot of her original fanfiction trilogy, and it has nothing to do with the fact that the characters in The Draco Trilogy were familiar faces. The plot was better. The premise was better. And just to give you an idea of how much I mean this, I sometimes yearn to read the original Draco Trilogy, even with all of its horrible problems. I have still not read the third book of The Mortal Instruments, and I refuse to read anything past that.

But my problems with Cassandra Clare don’t stop there. My problems just begin with the fact that once she’s stripped of her witty references to other writers, she becomes a mediocre storyteller. My next problem stems from the fact that Cassie Clare is being paid to be a one trick pony, and is selling out because I’m almost entirely sure at this point that she has no moral compass.

Once The Mortal Instruments series was over (or, at least, I thought it was), I felt that perhaps Clare might be able to leave her old writing behind and embark on something brand new. I was willing to believe that she was hung up and in love with these characters she had created when she started writing The Draco Trilogy long ago. I get it — the Draco Trilogy was a beloved staple of fanfiction, and it took YEARS for the whole thing to be written. It was a long effort, and she made absolutely no money off it. I can understand the impulse to want to be rewarded for pleasing so many people for so long.

But Clare didn’t stop. She didn’t try something new. Instead, she left The Mortal Instruments and started writing a steampunk trilogy set in Victorian England. About — you guessed it — the world she created in The Mortal Instruments. Shadowhunters are still the main characters. It’s still the same formula: girl who is not a Shadowhunter meets Shadowhunter who is sexy and snarky (like Draco/Jace, only with dark hair and Victorian sensibilities), and becomes entangled in that world and, of course, a love triangle. And then in addition to all of this, Clare — horror of all horrors — decided to extend her original trilogy to six books instead of three.

I understand that there is money involved. I do. I also understand that she loves her characters. I am a writer. I get attached to my own creations pretty easily. But the thing is, as a writer, you also have to know when to let things go. Television shows have this problem. It’s called “jumping the shark.” Granted, I don’t think her original series was that great, but still, it was supposed to end in three books. She ended it. And then, all of the sudden, she starts it again. But the problem is that the trilogy is already self-contained: the love triangle has been settled. The plot has been resolved. There is nothing left to happen with these characters that has not already happened. And yet Cassie Clare still does it because she has such a huge fanbase (most of whom, strangely, never read her fanfictino) and she can’t quite seem to let anything she writes go.

So let’s talk now about the books Cassie Clare has out (and is currently writing) now. She has her “trilogy” (which has now become, supposedly, six books about Clary, Jace, and company). She has her steampunk trilogy, which is also about Shadowhunters, but does not relate to the characters in The Mortal Instruments series. And now, according to Publisher’s Weekly, she’s just gotten at least a seven figure advance for YET ANOTHER three-book deal. And it’s about Shadowhunters. Again. With new characters, and, hey, now it’s set in Los Angeles! Newsflash, Cassandra Clare, changing the setting and the names (but not personalities) of your characters does not make a book different from the last one you wrote.

So what’s really my problem? My problem is the fact that Cassandra Clare is a marginally talented writer who has one story and one cast of characters up her sleeve, and yet somehow she’s sold millions and millions of books based on this. My problem is the fact that Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series was partially copied from her fanfiction trilogy, which copied a plethora of other authors, not even including J.K. Rowling, who provided her with the characters, premise, and setting for her beloved trilogy. My problem is the fact that Cassandra Clare is in the authorly equivalent of a time loop, and has come full circle. My problem is the fact that Cassandra Clare is, in essence, writing fanfiction of her own work, and it is getting published and she is getting paid bank for it, when other far more original and talented authors are getting absolutely nothing for their hard work. I may despise Stephenie Meyer and the world she’s created, but at least Twilight and its accompanying works are her own original product; at least she deserves to reap the benefits of the crazy fandom she’s inspired.

So dear Cassandra Clare: write a new goddamn book — one that isn’t a copy of a copy of a copy.

28 thoughts on “049. Why I Have a Problem with Cassandra Clare & Why You Should Too.

  1. Wow, thank you for bringing this to my attention  This is insane – I’m surprised I haven’t heard of this before. It’s just plain disrespect especially when fanfiction is so unbelievably amazing sometimes. You can’t steal from those forums.

  2. You’re welcome, Cassie! There are so many things wrong with this scenario, honestly … I think fanfiction definitely has a place, but it’s important for fanfic writers to still be original and not plagiarize, and it’s equally as important that fanfiction doesn’t make money, because it’s not a wholly original creation. Cassandra Clare kind of takes this issue to a whole different level than I thought was even possible. Apparently, there’s another book out right now (50 Shades of Grey, I think?) that was once an alternate universe Twilight fanfic and has now been changed to be “original.”

    (On another note, Sarah Rees Brennan, author of The Demon’s Lexicon was also a bigshot in the Harry Potter fandom; back then, she went by Maya. Her novels, however, bear zero resemblance in plot, character, and premise to the fanfiction she wrote back in the day.)

  3. Thanks for the examples of people who didn’t steal fan fiction and just decided to go off on their own. It can be done that means! And wow, you know a ton. Thank you so much for sharing. I think I’ll have to follow and get educated. : )

  4. I did notice the resemblances before I heard about the Draco Trilogy… But I thought it was because I’m such a huge potterhead I see Harry Potter in everything, like when I was younger, I saw lord of the rings in every story. I still love the mortal instruments. In a way it’s the perfect rebound for me, now that there will be no more Harry Potter books to look forward to.

  5. Pingback: 50 Shades of Grey « molly spring writes

  6. Unfortunately, I never had the experience to read Draco Trilogy, though I have been wanting to [Despite the claims of Plagiarism] for some time now, primarily because it started the Fandom I love so much – Draco/Ginny. However, this is absolutely ridiculous – not what you wrote, but what Cassandra has been doing.. She should actually “grow” up and be better a person than to steal/copy ideas and earn money on that..

  7. Pingback: Paper Droids – Three Takes on Fanfiction

  8. So, sorry if I didn’t got it but, you are saying that Clare’s copy herself? because I don’t think that actually wrong, because well, I hacen’t read the Draco Trilogy, but I am a huge HP’s fan, and I didn’t notice the similarities :s (sorry for my awful ortography, my english is not THAT good).

    And thinking it with care I can’t see the resemblance between TMI caracters and HP caracters… not really.

    And it’s true that Clare’s writes fanfics of her own work, but… they are not fanfics.. I think it’s actually cool somehow…. But again this is also just my opinion ::S

  9. I’m sorry, but I fail to see even a shred of concrete evidence that she plagerised at all here. And as for your ridiculous claim that her characters are the same as those from Harry Potter? How on earth can Harry be seen as similar to Alec in any way? And where Draco and Jace are concerned, I can’t see any similarity between the two. The tone of this piece started as quite fair, but your last paragraph, well, seems as though you may be a tad jealous perhaps?

  10. I noticed this too! After the first two books in her Mortal Instruments series everything started repeating itself. Then I became practically enraged after reading her Infernal Devices series in which Will is a Jace that looks like Alec and Jem is an Alec that looks like Jace. Granted I didn’t know anything about this whole plagiarism thing, but I could see that while the plots may be different the characters were the same and not just the same as the characters in her previous book…they shared many things with the cast of Harry Potter. Personally I found it strange that the main characters in her books are always two boys and a girl, much like Harry Potter’s Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Anyways in short: thank you so much because now this all makes sense to me and your articles great!!! Seriously and I can’t believe this isn’t ALL OVER the internet…or maybe it is all over and I’m just missing it. Either way now I have a bone to pick with Cassandra Claire too. Oh and I must read this Draco Trilogy.

  11. I actually called her out about Jace being the same character as Draco during a book reading in Chicago a few years ago and she denied it! She said that they were both a similar “archetype” and that was it. I was so mad.

  12. I honestly don’t see a problem here. Yes, she’s using her own fanfiction to sell books, but using the word “plagiarism” makes it sound as though she copying someone else’s work instead of her own.

    I also see no resemblance between Jace and Draco. This storyline is about Shadowhunters and Nephilim and I thought the whole idea behind these stories was brilliant. Using biblical stories to create her own supernatural world is genius.

    I’m willing to forgive the stealing of jokes (if that’s actually the case) because of the original story she’s created. I love the world of Shadowhunters. If you’ve read Infernal Devices, you’ll see that, while there is a snarky leading man, the characters do have their own personalities. The plot of these book is amazing and you become emotionally invested in the characters.

    I’m so sick of love triangles, that’s the only thing we can agree on.

  13. What they meant by Her TMI characters and the HP characters of her fanfic being similar was that Cassandra created a similar but unique stile of JK Rowling’s characters. They were still Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Draco, but with her own spin on the personalities. What the author of this post was saying was that Cassandra took those spins in personality of her fanfiction, and put them into the personalities of her original characters in TMI. The TMI characters, in themselves, are nothing like JKR’s characters.

    But I agree with you whole-heartedly. I adore the series and all that it has to offer.

  14. Totally true! She can deny it all she wants, but I’ve been reading her fanfiction since the days of Schnoogle and the sudden FF-net fanfiction boom, and there is so much that she simply lifts from her old work. Disappointing.

  15. I am surprised but unsurprised at this. I’ve harboured an ugly hatred for the author after she had a go at me on Twitter in Latin (because she is too cowardly to use English) after I had mentioned I didn’t enjoy TMI at all, due to its endless similarities to TID (which I’d read first). Now, I’m pretty disgusted with her. I am SICK of authors who have no talent, weaseling their way into the publishing world. I find it abhorrent that they are being paid to write crap, which brainwashes the minds of thousands of young teens. In fact, I feel so strongly about this, that I hope to start a publishing house in the future that is really devoted to bringing back well-written, original stories which are often overshadowed by fads like Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey. The world of writing and reading deserves more than despicable people without talent getting a hand in making money out of plagiarism and stereotypical characters. I am so disgusted with Clare after reading this! Thank you so much for putting the article up here. I will definitely discourage family and friends from picking up her soiled, ruinous money-making books (if I dare depict them as books and not abominations).

  16. She does not have a backbone and she is nothing but a bully. I am not surprised that the flipped out on you on twitter, she is known for that. She is also known for threatening anyone who mentions her plagiarism with her lawyers. I am also not surprised that she plagiarized her work. Just based on how she treats people she has that I don’t give a crap attitude and probably thinks she could get away with anything. Spanghews your idea would be great, especially for real talented Authors who write original work and who are not just fads or authors like Clare. I hope that you do start that publishing house in the future. You have no idea how many books that I have read by real creative authors that have been overshadowed by the mess that’s popular today its sad.
    I do not support authors that blatantly steal from other authors who actually worked hard to establish their careers. To me Clare is just a coat-tail rider,an opportunist and a despicable person.

  17. People always miss the point of the HP connection. It is not that they echo the original HP characters, it is that they echo her version of them (who really don’t resemble the original HP characters at al) from her work The Draco Trilogy which has been proven to be on big hodge podge of “borrowed” material from other works. The problem is that she is using material from something she plagarised as a basis for something she is claiming to be original fiction. If she had written something that had no connection whatsoever to or echoed The Draco Trilogy there would not be a problem.

  18. Hey easy there. None of us know her personally, so there is no justification for callig her vile or despicable.
    As for the plagiarism, I have read the Draco Trilogy and confirm that she used uncited outside material. Which is lame of her. But she never made any sort of money off the Draco Trilogy, so there shouldn’t be a problem with it. The way I interpreted the outside material was that she included little snippits for her readers to notice as a part of a game. I don’t think she was passing off quotes as her own.
    The next thing on my checklist of responses to comments is her characterization of TMI versus TDT. I can see some similarities, but the biggest one I notice is the characters’ sense of humor, and this logically would be similar because it is Cassandra Clare’s sense of humor. As for other similarities, I don’t see why people are upset by it. She chracterized Draco and Hermione and Ginny and crew in her own way. She didn’t steal from Rowling. There is absolutely nothing morally wrong with an author reusing a particular charactrization throughout different works. If that isn’t your cup of tea, that’s respectable, but that doesn’t make the author a vile person.
    And as for the comment about her always writing about two boys and a girl… That’s not the product of laziness and copying from her own previous work, that’s the result of the market. Love triangles are popular and have always been popular to a certain extent. And how is her trio of mixed genders suddenly lazy? What about Star Wars with Hans, Luke, and Leia? What about A Tale Of Two Cities with Carton, Darnay, and Lucy? Or Pride and Prejudice with Elizabeth, George, and Mr. Darcy?
    My point with this whole comment is that while you may not like her work (which is totally fine!), she has not done wrong in producing it. I happen to like her series, and I disagree about its lack of plot. The world she created it beautiful, and I don’t mind similar characters because the imagination of the world entertains me and I find her characters witty and, some of them, admirable.

  19. Um… Just today, I was fairly surprised that Cassandra Clare was a fanfiction writer on FF.net; a site that I love to death. I have only recently gotten into her books, since boarders closed I haven’t had much access to them, and I found that I love them. When I found out about her Harry Potter fanfiction I was excited, and I searched it up to find out more about it.
    I came upon this blog soon enough and was shocked; I read through most of the article and though I haven’t read the fanfiction and it’s probably in no place for me to say this but I have always been taught that reusing work and taking things from the work before you is how you write. Sure, you must write your own original work but thats only what a good author does. A great author would look to the work before hers and use it to her advantage and I feel that it’s unfair for you to say such things.
    I’m not saying that you shouldn’t have posted this; I’m actually perfectly fine with it and you pack one heck of an argument. But I’m just stating my own opinion here and I hope you’ll respect that.

  20. I never respond to comments on here but I feel that I absolutely have to with you. It terrifies me to my very core that you — and I assume others out there — believe that it is not only acceptable to plagiarize, but that it’s the mark of a great writer. It’s not the mark of a great writer to take stuff someone else (or even you yourself!) wrote and stick it in your work. With Cassie Clare in particular, she actually stole lines almost verbatim from television shows and other books, therefore not crediting the person who actually wrote it and taking credit for something that was not hers to take credit for. I’m not talking about taking a solid idea, such as a love triangle or forbidden love or some trend or concept that works well in literature and making it her own — I’m talking hands down stealing. Whoever told you that “reusing work and taking things from the work before you is how you write” and that “writing your own original work [is only] what a good author does” forgot that writing is all about creativity. It’s not about copying. And no great, classic writer (see: the Brontes, Dickens, Foster Wallace, Joyce, et al) stole entire lines and paragraphs from other authors’ works, nor did they reuse their own stuff over and over. Originality is the mark of a great writer — as is the ingenuity of taking a tired trope and turning it on its head, which is where the “copying” bit comes in. To do the same thing over and over again, or to take someone else’s words as your own, is the mark of a mediocre writer who should probably find a different profession, and whose work will not stand any sort of test of time.

  21. I have been trying so hard to get my work out there. I work from the characters up. The fact that the trend of getting plagiarized work published is happening annoys me. I spent five years working on the Royalty For Hire concept and working on it. It took me three years to even name them. Writing it took me five years because I started with the character of Brigetta Porthan. The fact Cassandra Clare stole everything she has published makes me hate her about as much as I hate EL James. You do not deserve what you have and the fact you stole it from me makes me all the more angrier. Five years wanting, of desiring, of writing stories in hopes of what could possibly touch even on JK Rowling’s level… and only to find that two women have STOLEN their stories and rip all my dreams away from me. I might only be 19… but I have more talent in my left pinky than them and I’m still wondering where my recognition is. When will I get a book publisher to look at my unique work? When will I get what they stole from not just me, but young writers everywhere? There are so many other people who deserve a chance like this and they pick the thief. It’s enough to the point where I’m bawling in my seat because I’m busting my ass over my own novel only to find others steal their work.

  22. Hello. I am a fanfiction writer too (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/4254394/Claire-s-Demons care to check me out? I’m still a newbie), and I bless you for writing this article.

    I first read TMI series a few years back and I kinda enjoyed it. Just KINDA. But, now that I’ve researched CC’s shameless stealing, I realise that she has no talent whatsoever. Her books are annoyingly repetitive and forgettable. It’s just amazing how she lacks the guts or morals to come out and admit that she clearly PLAGIARISED.

    I scrolled through some of the comments on here and I am APPALLED that she had the nerve to rant at some of you on Twitter. In Latin. Yeah Clare, because foreign languages make you appear smart. Which you aren’t.

    My God, I hope she gets hit by a train and dies. She’s nothing more than a bully who doesn’t deserve the money and fame she has. Just like EL James.

    Seriously, I feel like messaging her this link so that she can have a look for herself: we KNOW she’s a brainless moron who has nothing better to do with her time than plagiarise, plagiarise, and did I mention she likes to plagiarise?

  23. I don’t really see a problem here. So she copied (or used similar ideas from) sections from her own fanfiction? So what? For example the story about the boy and the falcon — that was not something that Draco said in Harry Potter. That was something that Clare made up, in her fanfiction trilogy, and decided to use again in her own books. Copying yourself or your own ideas is not plagiarism.

    And J.K Rowling did not invent the archetype of the “bad boy.” I have read Harry Potter (almost religiously) and I have read The Mortal Instruments and I never, not once, noticed ANY similarities between Jace and Draco. I (probably a minority here) despised Draco and loved Jace. Jace is somewhat of a bad boy but his inner essence is so different from Draco, in my opinion. The other characters you mentioned in Mortal Instruments that have similarities to Harry Potter characters are something you would not have noticed, had Clare not written HP fanfiction. Pick a book, any book, and I can guarantee you can argue that a certain character is a “Hermione” or a “Ginny”. And Blaise doesn’t even have enough character development in the HP books for Clare to have copied his characterization.
    As for her use of lines from “Buffy” and other TV shows in her fanfiction – she used it in her fanfics. Not her published books. If she’d used it in The Mortal Instruments, she’d have gotten sued, guaranteed (like the author of Opal Mehta).

    The plot is completely different. Jace is not Draco, just because he has archetypal similarities. He may be similar to the Draco all you Draco fans wished Draco HAD been, but that is not from Harry Potter canon.
    JK Rowling said herself: ” “People have been waxing lyrical [in letters] about Draco Malfoy, and I think that’s the only time when it stopped amusing me and started almost worrying me. Im trying to clearly distinguish between Tom Felton, who is a good-looking young boy, and Draco, who, whatever he looks like, is not a nice man. It’s a romantic, but unhealthy…”

    Can you really say the same about Jace? He, at his core, is a nice, good person. His relationship with Clary is healthy (for the most part).

    I think you have what your fanfic!Draco characterization is confused with the books’ actual characterization of him.
    There’s no real problem here except an unwillingness to give an author her due for being successful, regardless of what you think of the content of her story. She must have done something right.

  24. Please re-examine this blog — I’m not saying that he bears any resemblance to J.K. Rowling’s Draco. I’m saying that he is the exact same character of Cassie Clare’s version of Draco in her enormously popular fanfiction trilogy The Draco Trilogy. The similarities are not because they’re archetypes, but because she recycled her version of Draco into Jace — basically just changing the name — and because she actually used the same background and exact scenes of The Draco Trilogy’s Draco Malfoy’s childhood in TMI.

    I do not believe Jace bears any resemblance to the original character of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. He is, however, the exact same character that Cassandra Clare turned Rowling’s Draco Malfoy into in her trilogy. I have never and will never accuse Cassandra Clare of copying J.K. Rowling because she didn’t.

    There’s no good word for copying yourself and reusing the same shit over and over again, so I used the term plagiarism, but I did also explain the sense in which I was using the word. I agree with you — she didn’t copy Rowling, and in fact didn’t copy anyone (to my knowledge) aside from herself in TMI. I just happen to hate writers who can’t come up with new material and keep recycling the same things over and over again. She did, however, plagiarise OTHER writers in her original fanfiction (ranging from the scriptwriters of Buffy to Red Dwarf to a book series of which I currently forget the name) and still refuses to own up to it. And the things she plagiarised were the things that made her work good, and without it, her work is vastly inferior to the fanfiction that made her popular and snagged the attention of Holly Black. Does that clarify my argument a bit more? I can’t stress enough that I don’t think she copied Rowling in any way, aside from using Draco Malfoy, Hermione, Ginny, et al as the vague templates for her characters.

  25. I understand your point better now, but I still don’t really see a problem with what she did. I mean, E.L James took her EXACT fanfiction and had it published, so for Clare to have just used similar ideas/characterization from her old fanfiction doesn’t seem like a big deal to me. She had something that worked, and that people enjoyed online, and used those successful ideas on a larger scale.
    I do agree that she writes about the same thing over and over — I read TMI but I haven’t read Clockwork nor do I plan to read her other series, but it’s making money, so good for her, I guess. She may not be the most creative writer, but she was smart enough to create a world that people intrigued by, so she kept on going with it.

  26. OHH, I really can’t see the problem neither… ’cause, well she is using th world she created based on HP books, but it is her world. I can’t belive she is the only one who has done that (50 shades is a good example), but also others ff writers thecniclly create their own world using names of known characters because I’m sure they don’t belive that someday they would publish it as an original story (I hope it makes some sense).
    About Clare’s not being creative, well she might recycle thing of her fanfiction into TMI, but that doesn’t mean she is not creative, it just means she wanted her story published as her story… And I actually read TID and I like them better than TMI so maybe she is getting better (jaja).

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.